Advisor Directory


CLAS Academic Services Center Staff

To schedule an appointment with a Center staff member, please call (860) 486-2822.

 
Learn More about Making An Appointment


Mansour Ndiaye

Mansour Ndiaye

Assistant Dean
Executive Director, CLAS Academic Services Center
mansour.ndiaye@uconn.edu

Becky Bacher

Rebecca (Becky) Bacher

Director of Academic Services
rebecca.bacher@uconn.edu


Ann Dregger

Ann Dreger

Secretary
ann.dreger@uconn.edu

Elaine Chu

Elaine Chu

Academic Advisor
Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
elaine.chu@uconn.edu

Matt Donofrio

Matt Donofrio

Academic Advisor
Anthropology
Geography
Geographic Information Science
matthew.donofrio@uconn.edu

Corina Morris

Corina Morris

Academic Advisor
Cognitive Science
corina.morris@uconn.edu

Sarah Mosier

Sarah Mosier

Academic Advisor
Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
sarah.mosier@uconn.edu

Alyssa O'Keef

Alyssa O'Keefe

Academic Advisor
Statistics
alyssa.okeefe@uconn.edu


Major/Program Advising Contacts

Africana Studies

 

Shawn Salvant
Associate Director, Africana Studies Institute


American Sign Language

 

Linda Pelletier
Assistant Professor in Residence, American Sign Language Studies

linda.pelletier@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4229
Oak Hall, Room 356


American Studies

 

Christopher Vials
Professor and Director, American Studies Program

christopher.vials@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3630
Wood Hall, Room 332


Anthropology

 

Alexia Smith
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Anthropology

Matt Donofrio
Academic Advisor, CLAS Academic Services Center

alexia.smith@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4264
Beach Hall, Room 406

matthew.donofrio@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2822
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130


Arabic and Islamic Civilizations

 

Nicola Carpentieri
Assistant Professor and Chair of Arabic and Islamic Civilizations, Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

nicola.carpentieri@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3313
Oak Hall, Room 238


Biology Majors

Includes Biological Sciences; Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Molecular and Cell Biology; Physiology and Neurobiology; Structural Biology/Biophysics

Susan ‘Zen’ Buraceski
Academic Advisor, Biology Advising Center

susan.buraceski@uconn.edu
Biology/Physics Building, Room 101
Schedule an Appointment
 

Kathy Pais
Academic Advisor, Biology Advising Center

katerine.pais@uconn.edu
Biology/Physics Building, Room 101
Schedule an Appointment
 

Sharyn Rusch
Academic Advisor, Biology Advising Center

sharyn.rusch@uconn.edu
Biology/Physics Building, Room 101
Schedule an Appointment
 

Julian Torres
Academic Advisor, Biology Advising Center

Julian.Torres@uconn.edu
Biology/Physics Building, Room 101
Schedule an Appointment
 


Chemistry

 

Jill Grakowsky
Academic Advisor, Department of Chemistry

jill.grakowsky@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2285
Chemistry Building, Room A109
 

Nicholas Leadbeater
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Director, Department of Chemistry

nicholas.leadbeater@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5076
Chemistry Building, Room A310


Classics & Ancient Mediterranean Studies

 

Roger Travis
Associate Professor of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

roger.travis@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3316
Oak Hall, Room 230


Cognitive Science

 

Corina Morris
Academic Advisor, CLAS Academic Services Center

corina.morris@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2822
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130


Communication

 

Katie D'Antonio
Academic Advisor, Depatment of Communication

Joel Nebres
Academic Advisor, Depatment of Communication

communication@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3687
Arjona Building, Room 245
Schedule an Appointment


Economics

 

Lauren Munyard
Academic Advisor, Depatment of Economics

Rebecca Laroche Walker
Academic Advisor, Depatment of Economics

economics@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3022
Oak Hall, Room 309
Schedule an Appointment


English

 

Inda Watrous
Academic Advisor, Department of English

inda.watrous@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2322
Austin Building, Room 201B


English, First Year Writing

 

Lisa Blansett
Assistant Professor in Residence and Associate Director, First-Year Writing

lisa.blansett@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2859
Austin Building, Room 125


Environmental Science, Environmental Studies

 

Sara Tremblay
Program Coordinator, Environmental Scineces and Environmental Studies Programs

sara.tremblay@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5218
Young Building, Room 220


French

 

Roger Celestin
Professor, Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

roger.celestin@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3314
Oak Hall, Room 218


Geographic Information Science

 

Cindy Zhang
Professor and Head, Department of Geography

cindy.zhang@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3656
Austin Building, Room 425


Geography

 

Andrew Jolly-Ballantine
Associate Professor in Residence, Department of Geography

john-andrew.ballantine@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2579
Austin Building, Room 432


Geosciences

 

Christin Donnelly
Program Coordinator, Department of Geosciences

christin.donelly@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4432
Austin Building, Room 432


German/Eurotech

 

Friedemann Weidauer
Professor, Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

friedemann.weidauer@uconn.edu
(860) 486-1533
Oak Hall, Room 261


History

 

Heather Parker
Academic Advisor, Department of History

heather.parker@uconn.edu
(860) 486-5380
Wood Hall, Room 125


Human Rights

 

Rachel Jackson
Program Manager, Human Rights Institute

rachel.jackson@uconn.edu
(860) 486-8739
Dodd Center, Room 159


Human Development and Family Sciences

 

Kristin Van Ness
Academic Advisor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences

(860) 486-4632
Family Studies Building, Room 123
Schedule an Appointment


Individualized Major

 

Monica van Beusekom
Director, Individualized and Interdisciplinary Studies Program

monica.vanbeusekom@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0324
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 419


Italian Literary and Cultural Studies, Latin

 

Philip Balma
Associate Professor, Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

philip.balma@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3314
Oak Hall, Room 213


Journalism

 

Maureen Croteau
Professor and Head, Department of Journalism

maureen.croteau@uconn.edu
(860) 486-4221
Oak Hall, Room 2468F


Latina/o and Latin American Studies

 

Anne Gebelein
Associate Professor in Residence, El Instituto

anne.gebelein@uconn.edu
(860) 486-8030
Ryan Building, Room 235


Linguistics - Philosophy, Linguistics - Psychology

 

John Sprouse
Associate Professor, Department of Linguistics

jon.sprouse@uconn.edu
(860) 486-6864
Oak Hall, Room 368A


Marine Sciences

 

Claudia Koerting (major)
Program Coordinator, Department of Marine Sciences

Catherine Matassa (marine biology minor)
Assistant Professor, Department of Marine Sciences

Catherine.matassa@uconn.edu
Avery Point Campus
 


Maritime Studies

 

Helen Rozwadowski
Professor, Maritime Studies Program

helen.rozwadowski@uconn.edu
(860) 405-9120
Avery Point Campus


Mathematics

Mathematics, Applied Mathematics, Mathematics/Statistics, Actuarial Science

David Gross
Lecturer and Undergraduate Program Director, Department of Mathematics

david.gross@uconn.edu
(860) 405-1292
Monteith Building, Room 236
 

Joe Tinnel
Academic Advisor, Department of Mathematics

joseph.tinnel@uconn.edu
(860) 405-3297
Monteith Building, Room 241


Pre-Law

 

Diane Whitney
Advisor, Pre-Law Center

diane.whitney@uconn.edu
(860) 405-4223
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 419


Pre-Medicine, Pre-Dental

 

Thomas Abbott
Assistant Professor in Residence, Pre-Dental
 

Torrey Life Sciences Building, Room 212
Schedule an Appointment

Keat Sanford
Advisor, Pre-Medical 

premed_predental@uconn.edu
Enrichment Programs Office, ROWE 419
Schedule an Appointment

Erin Ciarimboli
Director, Pre-Professional Advising
 

premed_predental@uconn.edu
Enrichment Programs Office, ROWE 419
Schedule an Appointment

Krista Rogers
Program Coordinator, Pre-Professional Advising
 

premed_predental@uconn.edu
Enrichment Programs Office, ROWE 419
Schedule an Appointment

Khalilah Arrington
Graduate Assistant, Pre-Professional Advising

premed_predental@uconn.edu
Enrichment Programs Office, ROWE 419
Schedule an Appointment


Philosophy

 

Thomas Bontly
Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy

thomas.bontly@uconn.edu
(860) 486-9470
Manchester Hall, Room 203
 

Katie Upson
Academic Advisor, Department of Philosophy

kathryn.upson@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0085
Manchester Hall, Room 112


Physics, Engineering Physics

 

Micki Bellamy
Academic Advisor, Department of Physics

micki.bellamy@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0449
Gant Science Complex, Room S120E


Political Science

 

Jessamy Hoffmann
Academic Advisor, Department of Political Science

jessamy.hoffmann@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0462
Oak Hall, Room 409B


Psychological Sciences

 

Jessica Groves
Academic Advisor, Department of Psychological Sciences

Chelsea Zabel
Academic Advisor, Department of Psychological Sciences

jessica.groves@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2183
Bousfield Psychology Building, Room 100A
Schedule an Appointment

chelsea.zabel@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2183
Bousfield Psychology Building, Room 100A
Schedule an Appointment


Sociology

 

Katie Upson
Academic Advisor, Department of Sociology

kathryn.upson@uconn.edu
(860) 486-0085
Manchester Hall, Room 112
Schedule an Appointment


Spanish

 

Miguel Gomes
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

miguel.gomes@uconn.edu
(860) 486-3313
Oak Hall, Room 227


Speech, Language, and Hearing Science

 

Sarah Mosier
Academic Advisor, CLAS Academic Services Center

sarah.mosier@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2822
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130


Statistics

 

Alyssa O'Keefe
Academic Advisor, CLAS Academic Services Center

alyssa.okeefe@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2822
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130


Urban and Community Studies

 

Ken Foote
Professor and Director, Urban and Community Studies Program

ken.foote@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2019
Austin Building, Room 422


Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

 

Sherry Zane
Associate Professor in Residence and Director, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program

Elaine Chu
Academic Advisor, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program

sherry.zane@uconn.edu
Beach Hall, Room 410

Elaine.Chu@uconn.edu
(860) 486-2822
Rowe Center for Undergraduate Education, Room 130